Skip to content

Novels of Jane Austen

Offered ONLINE – SUMMER 2020!

In this half-credit,* seven-week intensive summer course, students will read, discuss, and write about three of Jane Austen’s major novels: Emma, Pride and Prejudice, and Northanger Abbey. Students will learn about the literary, historical, and philosophical context of Jane Austen. They will also study Regency-era manners, crafts, clothing, dances, and food. Each class meeting includes time for English country dance instruction and authentic afternoon tea.** The course is open to young ladies in middle and high school who have strong reading and writing skills. The introductory session of the course offers an introduction to writing persuasive essays.

Assessment. Each student will write one short essay after week 4 of the course. Following the last class meeting, each student will have one week to finish her longer, final essay for the course.

REQUIRED TEXTS – Any edition may be used, but hard copies are required.

  • Emma
  • Pride and Prejudice
  • Northanger Abbey

* The course is offered in a two-year rotation; the second year covers the novels Sense and Sensibility, Persuasion, and Mansfield Park.

** Because of ongoing nation-wide health concerns, the course will be modified for online instruction.

Page Image (c) 2009 Grace Hughbanks: Roses outside of Jane Austen’s house, Chawton, Hampshire, UK.